Eight Not-So-Wonky Types of Vegetable

P1090364

Today I bought my first wonky veg box from Asda. In an effort to reduce food waste, Asda are rolling out the wonky veg box, containing vegetables that would normally be rejected by supermarkets for their imperfections, in many of their stores. At just £3.50 it is a bargain, especially when compared to what you can pay for a veg box of a similar size elsewhere.

This is what my veg box contained, and most of it is not wonky at all.

P1090362

 

I was disappointed that there was only one parsnip, but it doesn’t seem wonky in the least.

P1090360.JPG

 

One cabbage, also not in the least bit wonky.

P1090353.JPG

 

One of my two cucumbers had a little discolouration on one side.

P1090354.JPG

 

My box contained several carrots and I could only find one that could be described as wonky.

P1090358.JPG

 

A couple of the peppers had a slightly uneven shape.

P1090356.JPG

 

The leeks were a little on the small side but otherwise perfect.

P1090361.JPG

 

The same could be said for the onions – small but perfectly formed.

P1090359.JPG

 

A couple of the potatoes had some green patches, which I assume can be easily cut off. Most were perfect.

P1090357.JPG

I highly recommend this wonky veg box. It is great value for money and by buying it you are doing your bit against food waste, and helping the farmers to sell the vegetables that supermarkets have turned up their noses at until now.

5 thoughts on “Eight Not-So-Wonky Types of Vegetable

  1. I’m wary of green potatoes. Not sure how much you have to cut off to make them safe. Rest looks good though.
    We only have a small ASDA. Is it only the large supermarkets that offer it?

    Like

  2. Looks like the vegetables I would regularly buy here – some are even better – quality control is obviously stricter in the UK. In Cape Town I shop at Woolworths (equivalent of Marks and Spencer) for vegetables but here I have to take what I can get.

    Like

Leave a Reply

